Dr. Nagele Recognized for Formative Research and Clinical Work.

The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) today presented Peter Nagele, M.D., M.Sc. with its 2012 ASA Presidential Scholar Award. Dr. Nagele, well known for his translational research in the area of perioperative pharmacogenomics and myocardial infarction, received the award at the Anesthesiology 2012 annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Nagele received his medical education at Leopold-Franzens University in Innsbruck, Austria. He then completed his residency in anesthesiology and critical care medicine at the University of Vienna, Austria.

As a resident, Dr. Nagele was an investigator on the first human safety and efficacy study examining xenon as an anesthetic in humans. He then spent two years with C. Michael Crowder, M.D., Ph.D. at Washington University in St. Louis to research how to use genetic techniques to study mechanisms of anesthetic action in the model organism Caenorhabditis elegans (C. elegans).

After his residency, Dr. Nagele returned to Washington University in 2005 to continue his interest in translational research under the advice and guidance of Dr. Crowder and Evan D. Kharasch, M.D, Ph.D., recipient of the 2011 ASA Excellence in Research Award.

In 2008, Dr. Nagele received a FAER mentored research training grant to study the influence of nitrous oxide on postoperative myocardial infarction. The results of this important clinical trial were presented at the ANESTHESIOLOGY™ 2012 annual meeting.

“On behalf of Anesthesiology, we are pleased to present Dr. Nagele with the 2012 ASA Presidential Scholar Award,” said James C. Eisenach, M.D., Editor-in-Chief of Anesthesiology. “We recognize Dr. Nagele’s many achievements as a clinical anesthesiologist so early on in his career. We look forward to his many additional contributions to come.”

Dr. Nagele currently serves as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at Washington University. In addition to his major research interests, Dr. Nagele continues to be actively involved in the specialty of trauma anesthesiology and is the head of the department’s section on trauma anesthesiology.

Source: American Society of Anesthesiologists.